Thanks for printing! Don't forget to come back to Steelhorse Law for fresh articles!
Can You Get A Motorcycle License With a DUI? Motorcycle Safety and DUI Laws
While so many people may think bikers have a whole different set of rules when it comes to driving under the influence, unfortunately, a strict set of laws still do apply. We're going to cover two sides of the coin: recently convicted DUI drivers wondering if they can pick up a motorcycle license and motorcycle drivers who recently got convicted with a DUI.
Can you get a motorcycle license with a DUI?
In most states, you cannot drive a motorcycle after getting a DUI, as motorcycles largely count as "motorized vehicles" in legal terminology. While some bikers believe that they are exempt from the normal rules because their vehicles are so small, they could not be further from the truth.
Those who have recently been convicted of a DUI may be asking themselves how they will get around; in most states, you cannot get a motorcycle license with a DUI. In fact, in some states, you can't even pick up a scooter or a bicycle!
In addition to your specific state having more detailed laws, your specific case will have more details on what you are and are not allowed to do. Some people may be able to apply for a limited permit in order to drive back and forth to school or work on a motorcycle, but if the judge is not open to that possibility in your case, then motorcycles are not an option.
Here's some more location-specific information. Let's figure out the local motorcycle DUI laws in Tennessee, Georgia and South Carolina.
Can I drive a motorcycle with a DUI in Georgia?
No, as Georgia's DUI laws impact all motorists, and switching types of licenses is not a way to handle cancellations, revocations, suspensions or disqualifications. In some cases, you're allowed to apply for a limited permit, however. Bikers and boaters may also be considered under the influence.
Can I drive a motorcycle with a DUI in Tennessee?
No, as your DUI can affect your ability to drive any motorized vehicle, from a golf cart to a moped to a truck. Revocation of your license is likely even after a first offense.
Can I drive a motorcycle with a DUI in South Carolina?
For a time, people with a DUI could drive a moped legally in South Carolina, but recent laws have closed that loophole. No, South Carolinians with a DUI cannot reach for a motorcycle license.
What happens if you get a DUI while driving a motorcycle?
For most states, the consequences of drunk driving on a motorcycle is by-and-large the same as drunk driving a car or truck; most laws refer to a "motor vehicle," which can refer to any number of vehicles. Some states, like Georgia, go so far as to apply their DUI laws to mopeds, scooters and bicycles! If you get a DUI while driving a motorcycle, you can expect legal consequences, such as jail time, fines and your license being revoked for the next few months of your life.
There are steep consequences for drunk driving. Motorcycle drivers should not consider themselves special or exempt in any way just because they have a smaller vehicle.
Georgia Motorcycle DUI
Motorcyclists fall under ordinary DUI laws in Georgia, meaning that the same severe consequences still apply. First-time offenders can face twelve months of probation, a minimum fine of $300, between ten days and twelve months in jail, 40 hours of community service, required programs/counseling and license suspensions. Repeat offenses lead to exponential increases in punishments.
Tennessee Motorcycle DUI
All motorized vehicles can result in a DUI. There are numerous penalties for getting a DUI on a motorcycle in Tennessee. A first-time conviction would result in 48 hours of jail time, a minimum fine of $350 and a license revocation of one year. Further convictions may also include vehicle seizure.
South Carolina Motorcycle DUI
All motor vehicles apply to the DUI law in South Carolina. Those with a BAC of more than .08 will be considered under the influence. A first-time conviction will result in a punishment of a fine of up to $400, between 48 hours and 30 days of jail time, and a six-month suspension of your driver's license.
If you've recently been in a DUI motorcycle accident or need representation, consider contacting the experts on local motorcycle law to get quick help.