Thanks for printing!  Don't forget to come back to Steelhorse Law for fresh articles!

Do You Need a Motorcycle License to Drive a Moped?

Cute and fun, the fuel-efficient and fashionable moped is a unique way to get around. But do you need a license for a scooter or a moped? The answer is more complicated than you would think!

Do you need a license to drive a moped?

In 44 out of 50 states, you need a license to drive a moped or a scooter. In six of them, you don't. Each state has its own licensing requirement, equipment requirements, registration requirements and laws for scooters and mopeds.

A person driving a moped with a smile

Do you need a motorcycle license for a moped?

Some, but not all, states require that you get specifically a Class M or specifically a motorcycle license for driving mopeds, scooters and motorized bikes. Far more, however, simply require that you have a general driver's license. Check the list below.

States Where You Need a License for a Moped

  • Alabama: You need a "B" restricted motorcycle license. The minimum age is 14.
  • Alaska: You need one of three different classes of motorcycle license. The minimum age is 14.
  • Arizona: You need a motorcycle license. The minimum age is 16.
  • California: No license is required if the vehicle cannot reach speeds of 20 miles per hour. For mopeds, you need an M1 or M2 license.
  • Connecticut: You need a general, basic driver's license (Class D).
  • Delaware: You need a motor vehicle license.
  • Georgia: You need at least a driver's license and to be at least 15 years old. Scooter riders may enroll in a license waiver program.
  • Hawaii: You need a motor vehicle license.
  • Idaho: You need a valid driver's license.
  • Illinois: Scooters and mopeds of a certain size only need a valid state driver's license.
  • Indiana: You need one of three different options of licenses.
  • Iowa: You'll need a motorcycle license.
  • Kansas: You need a regular driver's license.
  • Kentucky: You need either a regular driver's license or a specific moped license.
  • Louisiana: You need a regular driver's license.
  • Maine: You might have a driver's ID and be at least 16 years old.
  • Maryland: You need a driver's license.
  • Massachusetts: You need a driver's license and be at least 16 years old.
  • Michigan: You need a motorcycle endorsement on your driver ID.
  • Minnesota: You need either a license or a permit.
  • Mississippi: You need an endorsement on your driver's license.
  • Missouri: You need a motorcycle license.
  • Montana: You need a valid driver's license.
  • Nebraska: You need a valid driver's license for public roads, and you need a motorcycle license for motorized scooters.
  • Nevada: You can hold any class of driver's license to use a moped on public streets.
  • New Hampshire: You need a valid driver's license or a moped license.
  • New Jersey: You need a motorcycle endorsement on their driver's license or a separate motorcycle license.
  • New Mexico: You need a valid driver's license.
  • New York: Motorized bikes that can reach top speeds of 30 miles per hour need a Class M license, while scooters and mopeds simply need any class of driver's license.
  • North Dakota: You need a valid driver's license and be at least 14 years old.
  • Ohio: You need a motorcycle endorsement on your driver's license or a separate motorcycle license. You also must be at least 16 years old.
  • Oklahoma: You need a Class A, B, C or D license.
  • Oregon: You need a driver's license.
  • Pennsylvania: You need a valid Class C driver's license. Motorized bikes will need a Class M license.
  • Rhode Island: You need a standard driver's license.
  • South Carolina: You need a Class D, G or M license to operate a moped. Scooter drivers need a Class M license.
  • South Dakota: You need a valid Class 1 driver's license.
  • Tennessee: You need a valid driver's license; a motorcycle endorsement is not required.
  • Texas: Mopeds of a top speed of 30 miles per hour on level ground require a Class M motorcycle license.
  • Utah: You need a motorcycle license.
  • Vermont: You can drive a moped with a Class C driver's license.
  • Washington: You need a valid driver's license.
  • West Virginia: You need a valid driver's license.
  • Wisconsin: You need either a regular driver's license or a special license for only mopeds.

States Where You Don't Need a License for a Moped

  • Arkansas: No license is needed.
  • Colorado: A registration is required, but not a license.
  • Florida: You don't need a license.
  • North Carolina: You don't need a license to drive a moped. The driver must be at least 16 years old.
  • Virginia: You don't need a license.
  • Wyoming: Call your local county, but by and large there are no license requirements.

Hopefully, we helped to quickly answer the question of whether you need a motorcycle license for a scooter/moped. Each state is unique, so be sure to check local rules in both your state and county before deciding to buy a moped!

Prefooter Content
Prefooter Content
Prefooter Content
Prefooter Content
Prefooter Content

Get to Know Us

Steelhorse Law has quickly established themselves as the premier motorcycle personal injury litigation firm in the Southeast.
View Our Locations Meet Our Team About Us

Newsletter

Join our newsletter to stay up to date on the latest events and news at SteelHorse Law.

Rider's Advantage Card

Because we care about our riders and offer as much protection as possible, SteelHorse Law has put together our Rider’s Advantage Card so you can take advantage of the protections we offer for free.

Have Questions?